Chat with us, powered by LiveChat Skip to main content

Free DWI Consultation, Easy Payment Plans Available
Call Now – Time is Urgent

Get Your FREE Consultation

What To Know About DWI In Tarrant County Texas

Most states automatically start proceedings to suspend a person’s driver’s license immediately after an arrest for suspected DWI. Each state has a different time frame and procedure, but you will lose your license if you do not request a special hearing within a specific number of days after an arrest. In North Texas the time frame is 15 days. You have one opportunity to keep your driver’s license from being suspended. After that, it is difficult to get your license back regardless of the need or circumstances and despite the fact that a court of law may find you innocent. This is another reason why it is important to contact a DWI attorney immediately and get professional help.

Your Have To Act Quickly

  1. Your license will automatically be suspended, without a hearing, on the 41st day after your arrest if you do not request a hearing within 15 days after your arrest.
  2. Only an experienced DWI attorney can request a hearing to save your license.
  3. A DWI Defense Attorney get your penalties reduced or dismissed
  4. Fines may cost well over $10,000 unless your DWI defense Lawyer can reduce the charges
  5. There will be mandatory jail time unless a DWI attorney fights the charges.

Call the Tarrant County DWI Lawyers Today at The Coffey Firm

Have you been arrested and charged with a DWI in Tarrant County, Texas or the surrounding Dallas – Fort Worth area? The state of Texas takes the crime of driving while intoxicated very seriously and, as a result, has instituted some of the most severe penalties in the nation. If you were arrested in Tarrant County for allegedly driving drunk, you need the best DWI lawyer on your side.

For immediate help with your DWI in Tarrant County, contact Tarrant County DWI attorneys at The Coffey Firm by calling 817-831-3100 or request a FREE DWI Consultation to discuss your DWI. The initial consultation is always FREE and there is NO obligation, so call now.

Can You Lose Your Driver’s License For A DWI Arrest?

Most states automatically start proceedings to suspend a person’s driver’s license immediately after an arrest for suspected DWI. Each state has a different time frame and procedure, but you will lose your license if you do not request a special hearing within a specific number of days after an arrest. In North Texas the time frame is 15 days. You have one opportunity to keep your driver’s license from being suspended. After that, it is difficult to get your license back regardless of the need or circumstances and despite the fact that a court of law may find you innocent. This is another reason why it is important to contact a DWI attorney immediately and get professional help.

Why Choose Us?

We specialize in DWI and Criminal Defense In North Texas. Each individual has the right to a second chance without being labeled unfairly from a DWI charge. Rely on our proven track record to get your DWI dismissed or reduced to a lesser charge. For over 28+ years serving clients in the Dallas – Fort Worth Metroplex and surrounding areas. We are listed on top directories such as Top Fort Worth DWI Attorneys, Best Tarrant County DUI Lawyers, Arlington DWI Lawyers, Top DWI Lawyers in Collin County and Dallas DWI Defense Lawyers.

Our #1 Goal is No Criminal Record & No DWI Probation

What Makes Us A “Top” DWI Laywers? – Mimi, DWI Attorney Tarrant County, TX.

One word: “Experience”. I have worked hard over the years ever since I became a criminal defense attorney. After 28+ years of practice, I am proud to represent my community and I believe that everyone is entitled to a strong defense when faced with the emotional stress and life-changing effects of a DWI, including inability to be qualified as an instructor for your child’s driver’s education. I am a DWI Attorney that is board certified in DWI Defense by the National College of DUI Defense (NCDD), which is a certification that is not easily or freely earned.
I have also been invited to be a legal analyst on many national news programs, which again shows how respected my experience is on a national level. The same can be said about teaching and speaking. I have been invited to speak and teach at multiple criminal defense conferences, but I especially pride myself constantly teaching my team of attorneys at the Coffey Firm. I hold myself and the rest of my firm to a very high standard.

Mimi Coffey DWI Lawyers

What Is DWI In Tarrant County Texas?

The Texas Penal Code defines a DWI, in section 49.04 as “A person commits an offense if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.”
The Texas Penal Code defines Intoxicated, in section 49.01 as “not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance in the body, or having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more.

I Received A DWI In Tarrant County, Texas. Do I Need To Hire A Lawyer Who Does DWI In Tarrant County?

When you get arrested for a DWI in Texas, the case is prosecuted in the county, not the city. For example, if you get arrested in North Richland Hills, it will be prosecuted in Tarrant County. Similarly, a McKinney arrest will be prosecuted in Collin County. However, there are several cities that cross multiple county lines. For example, if you get a DWI in Carrolton, you may be prosecuted in Denton, Dallas or Collin County depending on where in the city the offense was committed. It is critical that the offense is prosecuted where it was committed. A police officer can see you driving in Dallas County and arrest you there, even though he may be a Fort Worth cop. Similarly, for DWIs, a police officer may arrest you outside of their jurisdiction. However, they will normally call a police officer to take over the investigation from that jurisdiction.

Is There Anyway To Fight A DWI Charge?

No matter what the situation may seem like, it is impossible to know how to fight a DWI charge without the right training. DWI is very specialized. It involves either infrared spectroscopy (breath testing) or gas chromatography (blood testing). The breath or blood test may not be admissible due to legal or scientific issues. Prosecutors do not generally collect this data (maintenance records, machine validation studies, calibration records). This is specialized data that must be obtained independently. The Coffey Firm has earned a reputation in understanding, obtaining and successfully fighting the forensics of a DWI. What may look like a totally unwinnable case may actually turn out to be a case that the state can’t meet their burden of proof.

We Have Got Your Back

When you get a DWI it is natural to feel ashamed, alone, deeply disappointed in yourself and even angry. It is also natural when falsely accused to feel deep resentment, bitterness towards the police and rage over feelings of disrespect. If you get down on yourself please know that there will always be an end to this saga. “Drink. Drive Go to Jail.” is NOT the law. “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” is NOT the law. Know that many good people have been where you are. If you are looking for an experienced DWI lawyer near you, know that Mimi Coffey handles most of Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex and surrounding areas.

When you face a DWI charge it can be scary, intimidating, and exhausting. Throughout the process of your case, you will want a caring, knowledgeable, and hard-working team on your side. The Coffey Firm wants to help you through this process.

Each of our attorneys work hands on to ensure that you will feel comfortable, and made aware of all of your options. Our confidential evaluations are free, all you need to do is CALL US (817) 831-3100 for a FREE DWI CONSULTATION.

Can I Get Off of DWI Probation Early?

Getting off of DWI Probation early is a very common question. DWI Probation can feel very different from other types of probation with all of the additional conditions. On top of that, the cost of having an interlock device builds up over time causing financial problems. Early release of DWI Probation is a complicated subject. One the one hand, the law specifically states that one cannot end probation early on an offense under sections 49.04 – 49.08 of the Texas Penal code (i.e., the DWI sections) in Texas Code of Criminal Procedure 42A.701(g). On a deferred adjudication probation, however, the law is a bit more ambiguous.

Overall, the deferred adjudication statutes will control over the other probation statutes on a deferred adjudication probation. This means that the judge may end a DWI Deferred probation early if “the best interest of society and the defendant will be served”. Further, a successfully completed deferred probation may not act as grounds to deny/suspend/revoke professional or occupational licenses/certificates (with a few exceptions) if the person is otherwise qualified. In the end, the decision to allow for early release of DWI deferred probation is up to the judge’s discretion. Many judges listen to what probation tells them, though. So, performing perfectly on probation means that probation may give the judge a good report.

What If This Is My First DWI?

A first-time DWI in Texas is a Class B misdemeanor. The penalties for a first-time DWI include:

    1. A fine of up to $2,000
    2. Between 3 and 180 days in jail
    3. License suspension for up to two years
    4. DWI intervention or education program
    5. Possible ignition interlock device

The minimum jail time is three days unless you are granted probation. Jail time is not mandatory for a first-time DWI. There are many ways to avoid or reduce jail time.
If you were driving with an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more, then it is a Class A misdemeanor. The penalties for a Class A misdemeanor include up to one year in jail and/or up to $4,000 in fines.

What If This Is My Second DWI?

A second DWI in Texas is a Class A misdemeanor, which is a step up from the first conviction. Penalties include:

  1. A fine of up to $4,500
  2. Jail time of 30 days to 1 year
  3. A driver’s license suspension of 180 days to 2 years
  4. An ignition interlock device as a condition of bond

Bond for repeat DWI offenders in Texas normally starts around $10,000, but can be much higher depending on the circumstances of the incident and the time between prior convictions.
It is critical to seek the counsel of an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible after your second DWI charge. They can give you the best chance of mitigating or avoiding these significant consequences.

What If This Is My Third DWI?

In Texas, a third or subsequent DWI offense is a third-degree felony. The penalties for a third DWI include:

  1. A minimum of two years and a maximum of ten years in prison
  2. A fine of up to $10,000
  3. A driver’s license suspension of two years
  4. A state fine of $3,000, $4,500, or $6,000
  5. An ignition interlock device (IID)

Even if probation is granted, all defendants convicted of a third DWI are required to serve a minimum of ten days in jail.
If any of the prior convictions happened outside of Texas, your lawyer might be able to use that state’s DUI law definition to prevent having one or more of your previous DWI charges counted.

Tarrant County DWI Lawyers

arlington dwi lawyer, arlington texas dui lawyers, arlington dwi attorney, dwi defense lawyer arlington, dwi defense attorney arlington, dui defense lawyer arlington, drunk driving lawyers near me, dui defense attorney arlington, dwi attorney arlington tx, dwi lawyer arlington tx, arlington dui lawyers, dwi lawyers near me, arlington dwi accident lawyer